The Higher Education and Training Awards Council

By - Last update

Get Daily news and updates directly to your Email

The Higher Education and Training Awards Council (HETAC) is the qualifications awarding body for 3rd level educational and training institutions outside the university sector up to PhD level. It makes awards for learning in a range of higher education and training institutions, including the Institutes of Technology. Like FETAC, it was set up in 2001 by the Minister of Education and Science under the Qualifications (Education and Training) Act, 1999 to ensure that all awards are in accordance with national standards set out in the NFQ and to provide opportunities for all learners in higher education and training to have their achievements recognised. The course providers leading to a HETAC award are called “recognised institutions” and some of these institutions have the delegated authority to make HETAC awards in their own name, namely the Institutes of Technology. There are 14 Institutes of Technology in Ireland which are listed below:-Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT) – this is in fact the largest 3rd level institute in Ireland and until 1997 was the only designated institute of Technology in Ireland. Like the Universities, it has the statutory authority to award its own degrees at all levels. -Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (IADT)-Athlone Institute of Technology (AIT)-Institute of Technology, Blanchardstown (ITB)-Institute of Technology, Carlow (ITCarlow)-Cork Institute of Technology (CIT)-Dundalk Institute of Technology (DKIT)-Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT)-Limerick Institute of Technology (LIT)-Letterkenny Institute of Technology (LYIT)-Institute of Technology, Sligo (ITSligo)-Institute of Technology, Tallaght (IT Tallaght)-Institute of Technology, Tralee (IT Tralee)-Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT)The Institutes of Technology offer a diverse range of programmes at levels 6-10 in the NFQ. Programmes in all institutions except DIT are validated by HETAC. DIT, however, has the authority to validate its own. Other providers of awards under HETAC are listed below:Academy of Medical Laboratory ScienceCarlow CollegeClanwilliam InstituteDevelopment Studies Centre, KimmageDorset CollegeDublin Business SchoolFidelity Investments, IrelandFrobel College of EducationGarda CollegeGriffith CollegeHibernia CollegeHIS Limerick Business SchoolICD Business CollegeInstitute of Business and Technology, SwordsInstitute of Public AdministrationIrish Academy of Public RelationsIrish Business and Employers’ Confederation (IBEC)Irish Management InstituteLeinster Academy, Leinster Rugby IRFUMilitary CollegeMilltown InstituteMunster Academy, Munster Rugby IRFUNational College of IrelandNational Counselling Institute of IrelandNational Tourism Development Authority Fáilte IrelandNewpark Music CentrePortobello CollegeSetanta CollegeSIPTU CollegeSt. Nicholas Montessori College, IrelandSt. Patrick’s CollegeThe American College, DublinThe Open Training CollegeThomas Crosbie Holdings LtdTipperary InstituteClick here to view the NFQ fan diagram. is a national database of universities, colleges, institutes and providers of third level and PLC courses in Ireland. We operate a national search database of courses at certificate, diploma and degree level as well as providing information about career paths and directions.
Special Feature: Starting a Business
What Do Your Qualifications Mean Overseas?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We'd love to send you the latest news and articles about evening classes, further learning and adult education by email. We'll always treat your personal details with the utmost care and will never sell them to other companies for marketing purposes.

Comments and Reviews Policy