By - Last update

Get Daily news and updates directly to your Email


Some examples of the kind of exchange programmes available within different universities and Institutes of Technology in Ireland are listed below.


The Law Department at Trinity College Dublin has student exchange agreements with the following universities: Osgoode Hall Law School, University of York, Toronto, Canada; Washington and Lee University, Virginia, USA; Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA; University of Helsinki, Finland. Trinity has exchange programmes with a number of universities in the USA including the 9-campus University of California (which includes UC Berkeley, Los Angeles, Santa Barbara and others), Boston College, University of Massachusetts, and New York University. For further details about exchange programmes available at TCD, click here.


University College Dublin (UCD) has exchange agreements with the following non-European universities:

Chinese University of Hong Kong, China (Arts and Human Sciences)

University of California, USA (Agriculture, Architecture, Arts, Engineering, Human Sciences, Science)

Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile (Arts and Human Sciences)

The University of Melbourne, Australia (Agriculture, Arts, Engineering, Human Sciences)

The University of New South Wales, Australia (Arts and Human Sciences)

University of Toronto, Canada (Arts and Human Sciences)

Waseda University, Japan (Arts and Human Sciences)

Keio University, Japan (Arts and Human Sciences)

University of Otago, New Zealand (Arts and Human Sciences)

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA (Arts and Humanities)


In 2006, UCD became a member of Universitas 21 which is an international network of 20 leading research-intensive universities. Members include the University of Queensland, University of Auckland, McGill University, University of Virginia, University of Hong Kong, and Tecnólogico de Monterrey.

Universitas 21 offers many exchange programme possibilities between 20 universities in 12 countries, which are listed below:

Australia:University of Melbourne; University of New South Wales; University of Queensland

Canada:University of British Columbia; McGill University

China:Fudan University; Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Hong Kong:University of Hong KongIndia:Delhi University

Ireland:University College Dublin

Japan:Waseda University

Mexico:Tecnológico de Monterrey

New Zealand:University of Auckland

Sweden:Lund UniversitySouth

Korea:Korea University

Singapore:National University of Singapore

USA:University of Virginia

UK:University of Birmingham; University of Edinburgh; University of Glasgow; University of Nottingham

For more details of exchange course programmes at UCD, click here.



University College Cork provides a number of exchange opportunities and is a member of the Utrecht network providing exchange opportunities to USA, Australia, Malaysia and Korea.

UCC offers exchange programmes to the following universities:


Salve Regina University, Rhode Island University of Montana, Washington College, Maryland Baylor University, Texas Kansas State Oklahoma State Southern Illinois University at Carbondale Texas Tech University University of Missouri – Columbia University of Missouri – Kansas City University of Missouri – Rolla University of Missouri – St Louis University of Nebraska – Kearney University of Nebraska – Lincoln University of Nebraska – Omaha University of Oklahoma


Edith Cowan University, Western Australia Griffith University, Queensland Deakin University, Victoria Macquarie University, New South Wales University of Western Sydney, New South Wales University of Wollongong, New South WalesUniversity of Tasmania, Tasmania


Universiti Sains Malaysia in Penang


ICU Information and Communications University, Republic of Korea

For more information on the exchange options available at UCC click here.


NUI Galway

NUI Galway offers exchange programmes with a number of universities in the USA including the 9-campus University of California (Berkeley, Los Angeles, Santa Barbara, Davis, Irvine, Riverside, San Diego, San Francisco and Santa Cruz). It also offers exchange schemes to Fairfield University, USA and the University of Toronto, Canada. For more information on exchange options available at NUI Galway click here.



Dublin City University offers study abroad options to Scranton University, Pennsylvania and Eastern Illinois University at Charleston under a university linkage agreement. DCU also has exchange agreements with Japanese universities. For more information on the exchange programmes available click here. The University of Limerick has a bilateral agreement with other 3rd level institutions outside of Europe.

Partner universities include Swinburne University, Australia; Nanyang Technological University, Singapore; University of Calgary, Canada; University of South Carolina, USA. For more details of teh exchange programmes offered at University of Limerick click here. is a national database of universities, colleges, institutes and providers of third level and PLC courses in Ireland. We operate a national search database of courses at certificate, diploma and degree level as well as providing information about career paths and directions.
Tips For Travellers
Employment & Lifelong Learning


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We'd love to send you the latest news and articles about evening classes, further learning and adult education by email. We'll always treat your personal details with the utmost care and will never sell them to other companies for marketing purposes.

Comments and Reviews Policy