1916 Bursary Fund

By gemmacreagh - Last update

Get Daily news and updates directly to your Email

The 1916 bursary applications remain open for some participating institutions.

The 1916 Bursary Fund was announced by the Minister for Education and Skills on 30 December 2017. The purpose of this funding is to encourage participation and success by students from sections of society that are significantly under-represented in higher education.

ll 1916 Bursary recipients must be economically disadvantaged AND from one of the following target groups:

  • socio-economic groups that have low participation in higher education;
  • first-time mature student entrants;
  • students with a disability – particularly students with a physical/mobility impairment, students are who deaf/hard of hearing and students who are blind or have a visual impairment;
  • Irish Travellers;
  • those entering on the basis of a further education award;
  • lone parents who have been confirmed by the Department of Social Affairs and Employment Protection as holding a means-tested social welfare payment; or
  • ethnic minorities.

Funding was provided for the award of 200 bursaries in each of the three academic years commencing 2017/18. Each bursary will be in the amount of €5,000 per annum.

In February 2020 the Department of Education and Skills announced the rollout of the 1916 bursary fund for a further 3 years starting in 2020/21.

The following is a list of eligible higher education institutions under the 1916 Bursary Fund:

Cork Institute of Technology
Institute of Technology Carlow
Institute of Technology Tralee
University College Cork
Waterford Institute of Technology
Limerick Institute of Technology
Mary Immaculate College
University of Limerick
Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology
Institute of Technology Sligo
Letterkenny Institute of Technology
National University of Ireland, Galway
Institute of Art, Design and Technology, Dún Laoghaire
Marino Institute of Education
National College of Art and Design
Trinity College Dublin
University College Dublin
Technological University Dublin
Athlone Institute of Technology
Dublin City University
Dundalk Institute of Technology
Maynooth University

Applications for a 1916 Bursary should be made directly to these higher education institutions.

Find out more about these education institutions here.

Further information on the application process is available from the website or access office of the institution in which you intend to study.

This funding is being provided under strand 2 of PATH (Programme for Access to Higher Education).


TU Access to Apprenticeship Programme Online Information Webinar
Minister Foley Announces Next Steps for this Year’s Leaving Certificate Students


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We'd love to send you the latest news and articles about evening classes, further learning and adult education by email. We'll always treat your personal details with the utmost care and will never sell them to other companies for marketing purposes.

Comments and Reviews Policy